On Line Writing Group

On line writing group, Clallam County, WA, including Port Angeles, Forks and Sequim

My Religion (a performance poem)

with 2 comments

My Religion
5.8.11

I have been dunked and drizzled,
sprinkled with holy water,
blessed and set apart.
I have entered into God’s family
time and time again.

I have sat in cathedral halls,
sunlight streaming through stained glass,
casting a holy glow around me.
I have stood in empty gymnasiums,
eyes raised towards scoreboards and basketball nets,
as the pastor’s voice echoes off the walls.

I have heard barrel-chested men
bring down fire upon my head,
spittle flying from impassioned lips.
I have sat and stood,
called and responded,
echoed empty words in monotone prayers.

I have raised my hands,
stomped my feet,
to electric guitars, congo drums, and trumpets.
I have raised my voice, one among many,
signing old songs from musty hymnals.
Amazing grace…how sweet the sound…

I have rotated religions,
changed churches,
in search of truth.

But this is my sanctuary…
a dark quiet room,
watching my little girl sleep,
feathery curls twisted on her pillow,
her breath as soft as angels’ whispers.

This is my truth…
smiles at strangers in the street,
drunken phone calls from broken friends,
who know you will always answer.

This is my worship…
screaming out, bringing forth new life,
waking at 1am, 3:15, 5:20
to sing babies back to sleep.
Amazing grace…how sweet the sound…

This is my religion…
feet planted in grainy sand,
wind whipping my hair,
wading in the water,
my sins washed away
over and over and over
with each lapping wave.
Face turned to the sky,
arms spread wide,
bear-hugging God.

Written by onlinewritinggroup

May 8, 2011 at 4:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This piece is still in draft format…I like the idea but cant quite decide if I like the way its laid out, flows, etc. Need help! 🙂

    onlinewritinggroup

    May 8, 2011 at 4:18 pm

  2. I liked it, immediately, on first read. I think you got your point across. I will make it a point to get back to you with any comments or suggestions I have after further readings. Promise.
    T.

    onlinewritinggroup

    May 9, 2011 at 7:39 am


Leave a Reply

